last night i drove home from work like it was any other Thursday because to me, it was. it had been a long day at work, i'd had a shitty meeting with my CEO, and i couldn't wait to get home and crawl into bed. as i walked up the stairs to my apartment, the only question on my mind was where was i going to order dinner from?
when i opened to door, much to my surprise, i found Xander waiting for me with a bottle of champagne and two glasses. there were candles and roses everywhere and he had a million dollar smile painted across his face. "happy Valentine's Day, Cori." FUCK. it was Valentine's day! hot tears immediately began streaming down my face and i felt like the worst girlfriend in the world.
not to sound stereotypical, but girls aren't supposed to forget things like this. girls are supposed to berate their significant others when they don't remember special days or anniversaries. i've always been "that girl" who goes all out and plans and schemes for weeks devising everything from the perfect meal to the perfect gift, and perhaps most importantly, the perfect outfit. but i've (clearly) had a lot on my mind lately, and neglected to remember that Valentine's Day was just around the corner.
Xander held me until i stopped crying and put his hand over my mouth as i attempted to profusely apologize. he told me not to worry because he had everything under control. and he did. dinner, desert, flowers, champagne, cheesy love songs, candy - the whole nine yards. and after dinner he slipped a ring onto my finger. calm down, we're not engaged. it is a sterling silver ring that says "LOVE" and it sits on my right ring finger. despite my lack of planning and attention, it turned out to be the best Valentine's day i've ever had.
i'm the luckiest girl in the world.

No comments:
Post a Comment